Sweet and slow, I hang sweet and low.
As the bullets kiss my skin and the blood then flows,
My hand then shakes and the gun then glows.
It roars to life with the anthem we know,
I pledge allegiance to my country for sure.
Though shedding tears for my abused little soul.
I hold, not fold,
But letting you check your cards too.
I’m letting my guard down, letting my soul through.
It’s weighing me down,
The vast mass of spirituality is making me drown,
In my own blood, as it floods the rest
Of my body I take no interest
In victory or defeat. I just smile for retribution.
That moment was my contribution,
To all that my country was, will be and is.
You know what they say, Dulce et decorum est.

3 thoughts on “Sweet Death

  1. I assume that this piece is about an individual dying for one’s country. All about dying for a bigger cause. The poem is quite bitter sweet and I enjoy it 🙂

    I especially love the use of the latin phrase at the end. Although I’m sure you know the whole phrase, but just using the beginning of it adds a sort of trailing off thought to the poem. Well done.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I think I deleted your comment on my other piece by mistake some how lol. Sorry. But I wanted to say thanks for reading it I always look forward to your comments and your views and it’s no problem if you’re busy, we all are at some point just drop in when you can:)

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

