The words still resonate throughout my every thought.
“It’s not your fault”
The chime that sets off as I enter this realm,
The theme is almost post-apocalyptic, and it fits.
The calamity that befell my mind sits
Calmly across the room, with a smile nevertheless.
Speaking truths I once thought were lies,
Holding thoughts I ought to despise,
Wearing a face I would have thought to be a disguise.
Yet I mask the pain in my eyes,
I bury the hole in my heart,
I guess love was never fair from the start.

© Akeem Rowe Kingsinister, 2016

2 thoughts on “M&S Mask and Smile

Leave a Reply

