I sat in the darkest of corners enjoying the view,
Or what I thought it was until I met you.
I sat quietly, telling myself an abundance of lies.
But until I met you, I thought they were all truths.
Society claims we don’t understand as youths.
But if this isn’t love, I don’t care, this is enough.
Enough to sate my thirst for the light,
The thirst I didn’t know I had, trapped in the night.
The sun had set eternally in my eyes.
But now with you, I happily await the sunrise.

© Akeem Rowe Kingsinister, 2016

5 thoughts on “Looking Past The Sunset

Leave a Reply

