As I stare upon Christmas past
I understand what I have overcome and why it didn’t last
Why the cheers were fleeting and happiness but a rose as it withered
I gasp and take it all in as the present is delivered

Living in Christmas present I pray it doesn’t desert me
Because this bittersweet bliss is all I hoped it to be 
The hugs, so warm and fuzzy, like specially wrapped cups of tea on a cold day
The exact reason why I hope the future is as if Christmas present did stay

For the only thing I hope changes in my future life
Is the prefix to your name, not the person I call wife
For your position is one that no other can occupy as you do 
No other can be guaranteed the love I so dearly hold for you

2 thoughts on “Christmas thoughts

Leave a Reply

